Steering group

Last updated 16.1.2023

The aim of the National Open Science and Research Steering Group is to bring together the research community to promote open science. All the key organisations in the Finnish research community have nominated their representatives to the Steering Group. The current Steering Group will work till the end of 2024.

The Steering group promotes the Declaration for Open Science and Research, open science policies and other national open science recommendations. The Steering Group prepares policies and recommendations in cooperation with the expert groups. All national policies and recommendations will be offered for commentary and will thus be a result of direct consultation with the research community. The Steering Group thus brings together the voice of the research community and sets the shared direction. The mandate of the Steering Groups's activities arises from wide representation, open commentary on all policy drafts, and principles of co-writing.

The Steering Group meets bi-monthly. The meeting memos (in Finnish) are available below, and the agenda will also be shared before the meeting. The research community is invited to suggest items for the meeting agenda – the easiest way to do this is to contact the secretary of the Steering Group: hanna.lahdenpera (a)

Meetings 2023

  • 30.1
  • 30.3
  • 29.5

The remaining meetings will be announced at a later date. Minutes from previous meetings are available in our archive (in Finnish).

The Steering Group 2023–24

First name Surname Appointing organisation Affiliation
Ella Bingham Finn-ARMA Aalto University
Jaana Erkkilä-Hill Unifi The University of the Arts
Tuija Gadd Researcher (Tulanet) Finnish Food Authority
Minna Harjuniemi FUCIO and AAPA University of Helsinki
Jari Hämäläinen Unifi LUT University
Janne Kanner CSC CSC
Henrik Kunttu Unifi Jyväskylä University
Helena Laaksonen Finnish Social Science Data Archive Finnish Social Science Data Archive
Leo Lahti Researcher (Unifi) Turku University
Hanna Lahtinen Arene Laurea University of Applied Sciences
Riitta Lähdemäki FUN Tampere University
Riitta Maijala Academy of Finland Academy of Finland
Sanna Marttinen Tulanet Tulanet
Liisa Maunuksela Tulanet Finnish Food Authority
Maija Ojanen-Saloranta Tulanet VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland
Emilia Palonen TSV Finnish Political Science Association
Taina Pihlajaniemi Unifi University of Oulu
Seliina Päällysaho Researcher (Arene) Seinäjoki University of Applied Sciences
Juhani Soini Arene Turku University of Applied Sciences
Arja Tuuliniemi The National Library of Finland The National Library of Finland